I Really Need a Therapist. Or, Why Introverts Need Their Own Space.

Why do extroverts not get introverts in the slightest? (And why do I keep writing teh when I mean to write the!? How annoying.) At least all the ones in my life don’t.

I’m not super introverted. I love to leave my house. Its just that when I say I don’t want to be somewhere I DON”T WANT TO BE THERE. I’m not a freakin’ recluse, though my family seems to think I am. They don’t get that I only have select friends because my friends get me. All my friends just so happen to live two states away though (where I used to live) and I don’t make good friends on a whim. My friends and I understand each other and we all had a connection from the beginning. We all could just feel it.

I know this makes me sound like a reclusive wierdo, and maybe I am, but I don’t think I am. All I know is that I don’t connect with people on a deeper level unless they are equal to me. I do get along with other people. I make friends and get along with my classmates all the time. I just don’t hang out with them because I can tell they are not the kind of people I would hang out with.

Ugh, I’m not explaining this well. All I know is that people need to get off of my back. “I know you love me and care for me but you are not my protector or my parent so get off of my back before I seriously hurt you. What I do with my time is none of your damn business so leave me to it and I won’t bug you about the things you don’t want me to bug you about!” That is what I wish I could say to my family but they are all just so damn confrontational and I just want to be left alone, so saying anything would just bring up a bunch of stuff that I am not interested in bringing up.

Whatever.

deep breath, sigh, and release all tensed muscles

Okay, I’m over it.

You know, when I think about it, they are all very extroverted and a mild introvert like me is probably really annoying, but they’re super annoying too. They need to find the guide to handling introverts, because they all suck at it.

Anyways, I really am over it.

…man, I really need some therapy (and a therapist that communicates with me, not just stares and listens, but one that gives me input as well…do you see what I mean?)

Leave a Reply

